Federal Budget 2014 – UNSW experts available for comment

Academics from the Australian School of Business and other Faculties at UNSW are available to give their budget analysis.

7 Budget experts 1

Photo: Thinkstock

Academics from the Australian School of Business and other Faculties at UNSW are available to give their analysis of the 2014 Federal Budget on Tuesday 13 May.
 
Taxation and Business Law
Associate Professor Dale Boccabella
Expert areas: Taxation of trusts, fringe benefits, capital gains and corporate tax.
Contact: 02 9385 3365 | d.boccabella@unsw.edu.au
 
Professor Neil Warren
Expert areas: Assessment of the taxation implications for various sectors, public sector economics with a special focus on taxation policy and distributional issues.
Contact: 02 9385 9542 | n.warren@unsw.edu.au
 
Senior Lecturer Gordon Mackenzie
Expert areas:Taxation of Superannuation, self-managed super funds.
Contact: 02 9385 9521 |gordon.mackenzie@unsw.edu.au
 
Economics
Tim Harcourt
Expert areas: Tim can provide a full assessment of the economy, analysis of various sectors, such as manufacturing, mining and the impact on trade.
Contact:02 9385 3816 |0408 485 479 | tim.harcourt@unsw.edu.au
 
Professor Richard Holden
Expert areas: Overall balance/deficit, education, social programs, political economy
Contact: 02 9385 4700 |richard.holden@unsw.edu.au
 
Banking and Finance
Professor Peter Swan
Expert areas: Accounting implications, the budget surplus and tax cuts
Contact: 02 9385 5871 | p.swan@unsw.edu.au
 
Actuarial Studies
Professor Michael Sherris
Expert areas: Superannuation and taxation
Contact: 02 9385 2333 |m.sherris@unsw.edu.au
 
Disability policy and NDIS
Associate Professor Karen Fisher
Expert areas:  Disability - National Disability Insurance Scheme, employment, pensions.
Contact: 0415 968 553 | karen.fisher@unsw.edu.au
 
Professor Kelley Johnson
Expert areas: Disability and social inclusion.
Contact: 02 9385 7802 |kelley.johnson@unsw.edu.au
 
Family welfare and childcare
Professor Lyn Craig
Family tax benefits, paid parental leave, age pension and superannuation.
Contact: 0414 366 733 |lcraig@unsw.edu.au
 
Professor Deb Brennan
Expert areas: Childcare policy and affordability.
Contact: 0413 488 487 | d.brennan@unsw.edu.au
 
Health
Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite, Director of the Australian Institute of Health Innovation at UNSW
Expert areas: hospitals, health systems, health policy, patient safety, quality of care.
Contact: 0414 812 579 | j.braithwaite@unsw.edu.au
 
Professor Mark Harris, Executive Director, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity
Expert areas: Health funds and higher income earners, cost of GP visits.
Contact: 0400 987 899 | m.f.harris@unsw.edu.au 
 
Professor Nick Zwar
Expert areas: Primary Health Care and General Practice
Contact:  0417 063 061 | n.zwar@unsw.edu.au
 
Federal-state relations and federalism
Professor Andrew Lynch, Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law
Expert areas: Federal Constitutional Law, Federalism, new models of co-operative federalism, frameworks for achieving reform and change.
Contact:  0402 4242 33 | a.lynch@unsw.edu.au
 
Professor Shipra Chordia, Director of the Federalism Project within the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law
Expert areas: Constitutional Law, Public Law, Federalism, Intergovernmental Relations, the practice and development of contemporary federalism and the implications for democracy and accountability.
Contact: 0432 452 824 | s.chordia@unsw.edu.au
 
Asylum seekers/ border protection
Professor Jane McAdam, Director, Andrew & Renata Kaldor Centre for International Refugee Law
Expert areas: International refugee law, complementary protection, international human rights law, public international law, forced migration, EU law relating to asylum and human rights. 
Contact: 9385 2210 | j.mcadam@unsw.edu.au
 
Media contacts: Denise Knight, UNSW Media Office, 9385 3249, 0405 207 685 or Julian Lorkin, Australian School of Business, 9385 9887, 0405 805 365