UNSW leaders recognised by Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

Australia's flagship academy of medical science has 49 new Fellows, including six from UNSW.


Image: Shutterstock

Six UNSW researchers have been elected Fellows of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS) for outstanding leadership and contributions to health and medical science in Australia.

New Fellows were welcomed from around Australia on Thursday, representing many disciplines including basic and clinical science, public health and health services, physicians, surgeons and allied health practitioners.

The UNSW Fellows also come from diverse range of clinical and research areas, including infectious diseases, mental health, and cancer research:

  • Professor Louisa Degenhardt (NDARC) researches illicit drug use and its health effects. She has shaped policy at a global level via advice to WHO, UNAIDS, and UNODC.
  • Professor Andrew Lloyd AM (Kirby Institute) is a distinguished infectious diseases physician‐scientist. He has made major contributions to clinical practice in hepatitis C infection, particularly amongst the prisoner population.
  • Professor Lisa Maher AM (Kirby Institute) is a renowned public health scientist who applies both epidemiological and anthropological approaches to important public health problems ‐ in particular hepatitis C virus infection – including leading the first ever HCV vaccine preparedness study.
  • Professor Glenn Marshall AM (Children’s Cancer Institute, Sydney Children’s Hospital) is a renowned clinician and researcher in the field of paediatric oncology, having made breakthrough discoveries in both childhood acute lymphoblastic leukaemia and neuroblastoma.
  • Scientia Professor Philip Mitchell (UNSW School of Psychiatry) is an international authority in the fields of bipolar disorder and depression, with his major achievements spanning the breadth of genetics, phenomenology, treatment and epidemiology of these conditions.
  • Scientia Professor Gordon Parker AO (UNSW School of Psychiatry) has received international recognition for his pioneering work in psychopathology, in particular research models to differentiate principal mood disorders (melancholia and bipolar II disorder) with diagnostic precision.

The 2017 election will bring the Academy’s Fellowship to 321.

Induction of the new Fellows took place during the Academy’s third Annual Scientific Meeting, held at the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute in Adelaide.