Inventing the future

Eleven finalists, four categories and amazing inventions all the way from benchtop to business. Who will win the 2009 NSi Inventor of the Year Awards?

Inventor web

Eleven UNSW researchers have been named as finalists for the 2009 NSi Inventor of the Year.

The finalists were selected from a strong field of inventors who made submissions in one of four award categories:

Levon Khachigian: a super drug to combat heart disease, cancer and inflammatory disease
Philip Hogg: cancer therapy and diagnostics

Brett Neilan: genetic testing of blue-green algae toxins
Stuart Wenham: solar cell technology
Obada Kayali: converting fly ash into building products

Information and communication technology
David Taubman: image and video compression software
Ori Allon: a new search engine algorithm
Sameer Allam: intelligent air traffic control simulator

Science and engineering
Ly Mai: solar cell technology
Maria Skyllas-Kazacos: rechargeable high-energy storage systems
Veena Sahajwalla: recycling rubber and plastic into steel

The NSi awards recognise and reward innovative technologies that could benefit the community and the environment, and carry a total prize pool of $20,000. A winner will be announced in each award category, together with an overall Inventor of the Year.

The awards will be presented during a gala event at UNSW's John Niland Scientia Building on April 23, 2009.

NSi provides technology transfer services for UNSW. The company is a recognised leader in the commercialisation of research-based technologies.

Read the full story on the NSi website.

Media Contact: Dan Gaffney | 0411 156 015 |