It's an honour

Medical luminaries are among a number of UNSW academics and alumni recognised in this year's Australia Day honours.

A number of eminent UNSW academics have been recognised in this year's Australia Day honours.

For service to medicine, Bill Rawlinson, Michael Friedlander and Charlie Teo have been appointed Members of the Order of Australia (AM) and Orli Wargon has received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

Professor Bill Rawlinson - service to the medical sciences as a clinician, educator and researcher in the disciplines of virology and pathology.

Professor Michael Friedlander - service to medicine in the field of oncology, as an academic and practitioner, to medical education and research, and through contributions to national and international cancer organisations.

Dr Charlie Teo, senior lecturer at UNSW - for service to medicine as a neurosurgeon through the introduction of minimally invasive techniques, as a researcher, educator and mentor, and through the establishment of the Cure for Life Foundation. The Foundation has provided more than $2.3 million for brain cancer research at UNSW.

Associate Professor Orli Wargon - for service to medicine as a clinician, researcher, and educator, and to the community through arts and charitable organisations.

In other fields, Madeline Lester, senior lecturer in interior architecture, was made a Member of the Order of Australia for service to the profession of interior design as a practitioner and educator, and to the promotion of the industry in a range of roles with national and international representative organisations.

Lucy Turnbull is among several prominent UNSW alumni recognised. A graduate of the AGSM MBA program, Turnbull was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to the community, particularly through philanthropic contributions to, and fundraising support for, a range of organisations, local government and business. Lucy is a member of the UNSW Medicine Dean's Circle

Professor Rawlinson, A/Professor Wargon and Dr Teo are also UNSW alumni.