Expert analysis on the 2016 Federal Budget

Looking for expert analysis on the 2016 Federal Budget? UNSW academics in areas such as taxation, health and economics are available for comment. 

Budget 2016

Image: iStock

Looking for expert analysis on the 2016 Federal Budget? UNSW academics in areas such as taxation, health and economics are available for comment. 

Experts from the UNSW Business School will also hold a roundtable to discuss key budget measures on Wednesday 4 May at 12.30pm. This will be live streamed and available as a podcast to download. 

Taxation

Associate Professor Dale Boccabella 

Expert areas: Can discuss taxation of trusts, fringe benefits, capital gains and corporate tax.

Contact: 02 9385 3365 | 02 9874 2539 | d.boccabella@unsw.edu.au 

Senior Lecturer Gordon Mackenzie

Expert areas: Taxation of Superannuation, self-managed super funds.

Contact: 02 9385 9521 | 0423 477294 | gordon.mackenzie@unsw.edu.au 

​Professor Neil Warren

Expert areas: Neil can provide a full assessment of the taxation implications for various sectors, public sector economics with a special focus on taxation policy and distributional issues. 

Contact: 02 9385 9542 | n.warren@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor Fiona Martin

Expert areas: Tax transparency of multi-national corporations, GST, charities, not-for-profits, and indigenous Australians.

Contact: 02 9385 9558 | 0432 065787 |  f.martin@unsw.edu.au  

Professor John Taylor

Expert areas: International/Cross Border taxation, Corporate Tax, property taxes including Capital Gains Tax and Negative Gearing.

Contact: 02 9385 3292 | 0425 368865 | c.taylor@unsw.edu.au 

Lecturer Rob Nicholls

Expert areas: Superannuation, International Relations, regulations and governance

Contact: 0412 646477 | r.nicholls@unsw.edu.au

Economics

Professor James Morley

Expert areas: Macroeconomics, finance, interest rates, unemployment.

Contact: 02 9385 3366 | 0406 842 550 | james.morley@unsw.edu.au 

Professor Richard Holden

Expert areas: Macroeconomic impacts, business, and employment. 

Contact: 02 9385 4700 | richard.holden@unsw.edu.au 

Actuarial Studies

Professor Hazel Bateman

Expert areas: Pensions, asset tests, any aspect of superannuation.

Contact: 02 9385 3096 | 0419 290402 | h.bateman@unsw.edu.au 

Professor Michael Sherris 

Expert areas: Superannuation and taxation. Impact of the Budget on pensions.

Contact: m.sherris@unsw.edu.au (NB: Michael is on leave, but contactable via email)

Built Environment

Professor Hal Pawson, Associate Director of UNSW’s City Futures Research Centre

Experts areas: Housing affordability

Contact:  +61 2 9385 5078 or 0421 335 628 h.pawson@unsw.edu.au  

Health

Professor Mark Harris, Executive Director of UNSW’s Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity  

Expert areas: Funding/strategies to improve the health status of disadvantaged groups and to prevent/manage chronic disease - 

Contact: 9385 8384  m.f.harris@unsw.edu.au

Dr Darren Saunders from UNSW’s School of Medical Sciences

Expert areas: Budget funding for medical research

Contact: 0410 622 009  d.saunders@unsw.edu.au

Listen live to the UNSW Business School roundtable at 12.30pm Wednesday 4 May